Saturday, 26 May 2012

Infamous (Chronicles of Nick #3) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Pages: 480 (Hardcover)
Rating: 5/5 stars 

Infamous: Chronicles of Nick

International bestselling author, Sherrilyn Kenyon, returns again to bring forward another spectacular novel that will captivate readers from beginning to end.  Her audience of “Menyons” range from 2 week old infants to 102 years-olds.  Ms. Kenyon has inspired thousands to pursue their dreams and follow their hearts.  Her stupendous writing has brought fantasy to life where there is no limit to the world of imagination.

Infamous is the third young-adult paranormal fantasy book in Kenyon’s Chronicles of Nick series.  Infinity, the first book in the series debuted on May 25th, 2010. The sharp witty humour was undeniably funny and caught the attention of many young readers along with her supporters of her adult romance series, Dark-Hunters.

Nicholas Gautier (pronounced Go-shay, not Gaut-tee-aa) is a proud 15 year old Cajun with a sharp attitude and a fierce loyalty to his mother, Cherise Gautier, an intimidating 29 year old woman who can make any grown man “wet himself”.  Readers follow their favourite characters, Nick, Nekoda, Bubba, Duck Urine Mark, Caleb, Kyrian, and Acheron through fast-paced, breathtaking adventures from one world to another where danger never seems to be too far behind.

In her previous books, readers have learned and discovered more about the world of Dark-Hunters and other demons and creatures. Infamous breaks down the barriers that surround Nick and spin his world out of control. Time is altered with Ambrose, Nick’s future self being in the Present, and every second of his life is crucial to the survival of man, literally. It is vital that Nick retains his humanity as long as possible as the fate of the world is in his hands. However, Adarian Malachai, Nick’s father, is out for vengeance, and his ultimate prize? Nick himself. The stakes are higher than ever and the bounty that is placed on Nick’s head gets increasingly bigger with every moment he is walking the face of the Earth.

Meanwhile, chaos is breaking out at Nick’s high school. An unidentified creator has designed a website called, The website discriminates the whole student body and releases lies and secrets about one another that start to turn everyone against each other. Even though “violence is never the answer”, fights are quickly breaking out, and Nick is the victim of some of them. Computer geniuses, Mark, Bubba and Madaug can’t seem to infiltrate the user and matters are getting worse. Nick is accused of rape and even though he knows level 40 of “gorilla”, he will need much more to solve this case. Nick and crew start to believe that something “not human” is under all of this. Time is ticking and if someone can’t crack this case, someone or something is going to do something that they will regret.

Alliances between man, demon, and Dark-Hunter are put to the test. Nick starts to harness his true Malachai power and the past will begin to reveal the actions of others. With the help of this fellow friends and Death himself, can Nick survive the day?

When I first saw Infinity on the bookshelves in June 2010, I instantly knew it would be a great read. The exquisite colours on the cover contrasted beautifully with each other and immediately reeled me in. However, what really caught my attention was Ms. Kenyon’s name written elegantly at the bottom. Ms. Kenyon is and will forever be a well renowned author as I had seen her name on posters and frequently in the hands of readers, whether they were walking down the street or either taking the bus to work or school.

Sherrilyn Kenyon is a fabulous author who can only be described as a genius. Her magnificent story lines and intoxicating story plots will always keep you on the edge of your seat, gasping for more. Her riveting novels will appeal to everyone and anyone. If you’re looking for an extraordinary read that will satisfy your craving, definitely look for Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books.

Be sure to keep your eye open for the fourth book in the Chronicles of Nick series, Inferno in bookstores March 4th, 2013.  

View on Goodreads

Saturday, 12 May 2012

Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver

Title: Delirium
Author: Lauren Oliver 
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 441 (Hardcover)
Rating: 4/5 stars

Delirium (Delirium, #1)

Lauren Oliver first made her appearance in the writing industry with her spectacular debut novel, Before I Fall in spring 2010. The young adult fantasy book was an instant sell-out and quickly claimed a spot on the New York Times Bestsellers list within weeks of its release. Oliver’s highly anticipated second book, Delirium which was released in February of 2011 did not fail to impress readers, critics, and bloggers worldwide.

Delirium is a dystopian book and first and foremost a love story. At eighteen years old, citizens of the United States of America must legally undergo a procedure – a “cure” – that will result in citizens being unable to love anyone ever again, whether it may be a partner, friend or family member.

The main character seventeen-year-old Lena Holoway, is scheduled to have her procedure completed on September 3, in ninety-five days. Her eagerness to rid her emotion of love has consumed her mind from day one. Lena hopes to be accepted back into her family and be seen no longer as an outcast. However, all her beliefs change when she meets Alex, a smart, witty, and handsome young man. At first Lena quickly denies herself any association with Alex as all her life she has learned to keep her distance from others because the threat of the deadly disease, deliria could potentially kill her.

Throughout the book, the young couple rapidly create chaos that could expose them to the government while fighting for the chance to escape the prison that has been their life for the past seventeen years. Their nail-biting journey will keep you on the edge of your seat, begging for more. Delirium will always be on your mind. Although Lena and Alex will sacrifice everything for each other, will love conquer all?

Delirium is a wonderful emotional, heartbreaking love story set in a dystopian future. Be sure to watch out for the next book in the Delirium series. The release of the next book, Pandemonium is just right around the corner and should be in bookstores on February 28, 2012.

View on Goodreads